“what was visible in our Savior has passed over into his mysteries (Sacraments)”
St. Leo the Great, Sermon 74


When Jesus walked the face of the earth over 2,000 years ago, he brought people into communion with him, he healed, forgave, nourished, and strengthened people, and he sent his followers forth to continue this mission. Those followers continue to fulfill Jesus’ command today through the ministry of the Church especially by means of the 7 Sacraments.

Each Sacrament is an outward sign (something we can see, touch, feel, hear), that actually conveys the grace (the gift of God) that it signifies (talks about). This is different from signs like STOP signs in that when we come to a STOP sign, it tells us we should stop but the sign doesn’t actually make it happen—we ourselves have to do the stopping. Sacraments, on the other hand, make happen what they say is happening, not because Catholics are magicians, but because Jesus Christ promised and he fulfills his promises. And what is happening? By means of the Sacraments, God graciously and freely shares with us his divine life, embracing us in a loving relationship with Him, drawing us closer to him.

Click on the link(s) below to learn more about each Sacrament:




Reconciliation (aka Confession or Penance)

Anointing of the Sick

Holy Matrimony

Holy Orders